Internal links for long descriptions

Hi, all, I am pretty new to Pressbooks and I am struggling with creating the internal links that would help me add long descriptions for images that need it (graphs and tables with information that isn’t offered in any other form than the image itself.) It might be something very simple that I fail to grasp so I hope someone can explain to me how I can add a link to figures from main body text and vice versa.
I am not a web designer, I am just a remediator but I have a pretty good understanding of WordPress. I have read all the resources I could find online on the matter but I seem to have a problem in identifying the caption ID. Most of the images in my book do not have a caption ID, they look like this:

[caption id="" align=“aligncenter” width=“480”]Electricity Generation by Nuclear Power Figure 4[/caption]

Now, can anybody please give me an example of how I could create a link from this particular picture to the description I created in the long descriptions section?
Thank you very much!

Hi @Andreea and welcome to the Pressbooks community! I’m guessing you’re referring to section on long descriptions in the Accessibility guide from our friends at BCcampus? If that’s the case, it sounds to me that what you’re looking to do is to create internal links that point to each other within a chapter. One way to do this is by using the anchor button in the WYWISYG editor and the instructions given in our guide (look for the section called creating custom internal links). This may not be a good suggestion, but the footnote tool also creates internal links automatically – there may well be a good accessibility/semantic web reason NOT to use footnotes for long descriptions that I’m not aware of, but it’d be a quick and easy way to create a set of matching internal links like those described in the BCcampus guide.